“NVQ’s have made it possible to release the untapped potential of employees and give recognition to the real contribution which the workforce makes towards the success of a business”.

John Adshead, Personal Director, J. Sainsburys Plc.

It is fair to say that all businesses exist to make money over a period of time and the continuous successful achievement of this objective allows employees of the company the security of long term employment.

However, the role of the employee is not just to complete tasks, but to contribute to the business by maintaining flexibility and being adaptable to the changing demands placed on the business and much of this is achieved by keeping their skills, knowledge and understanding to perform effectively, up to date.

Your employer is investing in you by contributing valuable production time to allow you the opportunity to complete this qualification; they simply ask in return that you invest this time productively and by producing the best quality portfolio that you can.

National Vocational Qualifications

NVQ stands for National Vocational Qualification.

As the term indicates at the end of the programme you will achieve a qualification which meets present national standards.

However, unlike learning new skills, an NVQ assesses whether your present work performance and knowledge meets the national standards and if not the programme is designed to help you fill the gaps.

 As you make progress you will be able to demonstrate that you have the necessary practical skills and knowledge to do your work effectively, efficiently and safely.


 Sector Skills Councils (SSC’s) consult with representatives of industry at all levels.  From their findings they will produce sets of National Occupational Standards.

 These standards are then submitted to a regulatory body (The Qualifications and Curriculum Authority – QCA) that will make sure that the standards are relevant to your needs and in keeping with the guidelines for all NVQ’s.

 When the standards have been approved by QCA, then an Awarding Body (such as EMTA, City & Guilds, OCR) will prepare a scheme that gives details of what training providers and candidates need to do before the awarding body can award a certificate.

Transcend’s NVQ awarding body is EAL (Emta Awards Limited)

 NVQ structure:

 NVQ’s are made up of units, some of which are compulsory and others that are optional.  The optional units still have to be completed to fulfil the requirements of the NVQ, but are selected on the basis of the specific job content.

 Each unit assesses performance and knowledge aspects of your work.  To make the units easier to complete they are broken down into smaller elements, usually between two and five elements per unit.

 Each element states what you need to do to demonstrate your skills and if you are in any doubt your assessor will give you guidance.